Thesuperwomenblog's Blog

May 25, 2010

Upper Respiratory Infection = Common Cold

Filed under: Common Cold,Health,Motherhood,Parenting — thesuperwomenblog @ 4:58 am

It started Sunday the week before last. We were out in New Jersey and getting ready to go back to Brooklyn when my daughter suddenly came down with a fever. Now she wasn’t feeling well from Friday but I just assumed it was her allergies bothering her. She had no fever and maybe just a runny nose. Then Sunday she breaks into a fever and all I could think of is that she was sick about 2 weeks prior. I gave her some Tylenol when I got back into Brooklyn but it just seemed as if the fever would not break. That Monday I took her to the doctor and that is when he let me know she had an upper respiratory infection and prescribed antibiotics and cough medicine for her. I was happy to finally know what was wrong with her. Started the antibiotics and was told to give her motrin for the fever. It was the 4 longest days ever because the fever just didn’t seem to want to break. By Thursday she showed signs of improvement and today she went back to school.

I am so glad that she is feeling much better but what made the difference was me finding out exactly what was wrong with her and making sure that I took the proper steps in order for her to get better. So as a parent I wanted to share some information with you on what is an Upper Respiratory Infection, how does one get it (especially children) and how treat it.

I found some very helpful information on  http://www.childrenshospital.org. Here is some information on exactly what upper respiratory infection is.

What is an upper respiratory infection (URI)?
An upper respiratory infection (URI), also known as the common cold, is one of the most common illnesses, leading to more doctor visits and absences from school and work than any other illness every year. It is estimated that during a one-year period, people in the US will suffer one billion colds. Caused by a virus that inflames the membranes in the lining of the nose and throat, colds can be the result of more than 200 different viruses. However, among all of the cold viruses, the rhinoviruses and the coronaviruses cause the majority of colds.

To read more go the the link below.

Upper Respiratory Infection (Common Cold).

I hope you find this site as informative as I have.
The Super Women Blog~

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.